The puppet master! (Updated for Week 11)

Uncategorized

WEEK 10:

This is a visual conceptualisation from a TED campaign about digital literacy. It aims to showcase how things can be controlled and manipulated at an elevated level on digital platforms. It’s a work in progress but I will show you what elements still need to be incorporated!

This is the original image:

The most important part of this picture, however, will be the incorporating the hand from this image on top of the puppet that I’ve already made:

These are some of the other images of wooden dolls that I’ve used to make my puppet:

The image of the puppet alone has more than 20 layers of work – it will take a lot of time to make all the surfaces of the image even and sophisticated before I add in the hand and the TED logo. If time permits I even plan to make a tiny gif animation with one of the puppet legs moving.

WEEK 11 Update:

I have slightly tweaked my concept to relate it to the manipulation of algorithms on the internet. The puppet master is meant to represent those who are behind the algorithms on the internet, who inherently control a majority of our digital interactions.

Again, I will be making small final tweaks to the image over the next week or so depending on the feedback I get from all sides!

One thought on “The puppet master! (Updated for Week 11)

  1. Again your editing skills are very impressive for these photos!
    Something to really consider here, however, is how the image is constructed around things such as framing. This could be a very useful idea to put into place and show effectively to really build on the ideas put into the image and also can be very useful to provide that information to the regular consumer of the photo.
    Another thing that would be useful to touch on is the subject matter of what is actually being manipulated and how this coincides with the real and creates a sense of juxtaposition that can be observed by the consumer and really effectively bring forth the aspect of digital literacies you are using for this assignment. For example, why am I looking at this certain manipulation of these images? What is this image attempting to provoke?
    This is a great start to a great set of images and I really admire the standard and amount of editing that has gone into these.

    Like

Leave a comment